Both medical and recreational marijuana possession and use have been hot topics in recent years, and each state has widely different laws regarding marijuana. For example, one minute you can be in Colorado, where recreational marijuana possession is legal, and the next minute, you can enter neighboring Kansas, which has strict laws regarding cannabis and has not yet even decriminalized possession. Because of the constantly changing and varying laws, it is important to understand the laws in your state as we enter 2020. The following is a brief overview of marijuana laws in Ohio.
Ohio has a medical marijuana program that allows individuals with certain medical conditions to obtain permission to possess cannabis products. Currently, qualified medical conditions include the following:
- Epilepsy or another seizure disorder
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- Traumatic brain injury (TBI)
- Chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE)
- Spinal cord disease or injury
- Crohn’s disease
- Ulcerative colitis
- Hepatitis C
- Irritable bowel syndrome (IBS)
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Sickle cell anemia
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Severe, chronic, or intractable pain
If you are diagnosed with one of the above conditions, you can request that your physician creates a profile for you in Ohio’s Medical Marijuana Control Program (OMMCP) Patient and Caregiver Registry. Once your registration in the program is complete, you can purchase and possess marijuana from licensed dispensaries. You may not, however, possess marijuana without proper registration, even if you have a qualifying medical condition.
Recreational Marijuana Possession
Recreational possession of marijuana is still unlawful in the State of Ohio. While possession of small amounts for personal use has been decriminalized, there are still penalties for possession, including serious penalties for sales or possession of large amounts. Possible charges and penalties for possession include:
- Less than 100 grams = Misdemeanor charge, $150 fine, no jail time possible
- 100 to 200 grams = Misdemeanor charge, $250 fine, up to 30 days in jail
- 200 to 1,000 grams = Felony charge, $2,500 fine, up to one year in jail
- 1,000 to 20,000 grams = Felony charge, $10,000 fine, one to five years in prison
- 20,000 to 40,000 grams = Felony charge, $15,000 fine, five to eight years in prison
- 40,000 grams or more = Felony charge, $20,000 fine, at least eight years in prison
The penalties can increase if you have prior convictions or are accused of dealing marijuana. It is important to have a strong defense against any marijuana charges.
Consult with an Ohio Drug Crime Defense Lawyer about Your Case Today
It is natural to be confused about the state of marijuana laws across the United States. Before you travel or possess marijuana in any state, always familiarize yourself with the relevant laws to avoid arrests and criminal charges. If you are arrested in the Dayton area, you should immediately contact a drug crime defense attorney. The VanNoy Firm defends clients against many types of criminal charges, so please contact us today to discuss how we can help.