The use of alcohol for those who are under the age of 21 is illegal, and if a person is caught in the possession of alcohol, they can face criminal consequences as such. But possession of alcohol isn’t the only alcohol-related crime that young people in Dayton are often convicted of. Consider the following common alcohol-related crimes for minors, the related penalties, and what you should do if you or your child is facing alcohol-related charges:
As found in the Ohio Laws and Rules Section 4301.63, it is illegal for any minor under the age of 21 years to purchase beer or intoxicating liquor. It is also against the law for someone under 21 years old to consume, possess, handle, or contribute to the purchase of alcohol. If a person is found to be doing any of the above, they may face a Minor in Possession, or MIP, charge. This can mean a misdemeanor charge that carries a fine of up to $1,000, and a potential jail sentence.
Another alcohol-related crime is that of furnishing false information to obtain alcohol or beer, typically known simply as using a fake ID. This crime is considered to be a first degree misdemeanor, and is penalized by incarceration of up to six months, and a fine of up to $1,000.
Not only is it illegal for a minor to consume alcohol, but it is also illegal for anyone–of legal age or not–to be drunk and disorderly in a public place. A person commits a drunk and disorderly crime when they are in a public place, are intoxicated, and are engaging in conduct that is likely to offend others, inconvenience or harm others, or is a risk to their own health or the property of others. Public intoxication/disorderly conduct is a minor misdemeanor charge, and is typically penalized with a fine of up to $150. If the disorderly conduct is aggravated, jail time of up to 30 days is also possible.
The most serious alcohol -related charge that a young person may face is an Underage Drinking and Driving (UDD) charge, or an Operating a Vehicle Under the Influence (OVI) charge. If a young person (under 21) is operating a motor vehicle and has alcohol in their system that renders their BAC to be .02 percent or greater, but less than .08 percent, they will face a UDD charge. If the person has a BAC of .08 or above, they will face an OVI charge, which is more harshly penalized. The consequence for having alcohol in one’s system–but not being intoxicated–and operating a motor vehicle is a fine, points against one’s driver’s license, and potential jail time.
If you are a young person facing alcohol-related charges, you need to work with an experienced criminal defense attorney. At the law offices of The VanNoy Firm, we will explain to you your rights and options, and start building your defense today. Call us now to schedule a consultation.
Many people ask this question. About 80% of DUI suspects in Ohio provide a chemical sample. This sample is almost always in the form of a breath test. Officers usually…
Make a consultation with our expert team to solve your problems.
Fill out the form below to schedule a consultation.