ENSP

Troy DUI Attorney

Troy DUI Attorney

In Ohio, being charged with Operating Vehicle Impaired (OVI) carries heavy penalties, which have the potential to impact every area of your life. At the VanNoy Firm, our experienced Troy OVI attorneys understand how these charges can threaten both your personal life and your financial security. With over two decades worth of experience handling these types of cases, we provide the professional legal representation you need to strategize your best course of defense.

Handcuffs with fingerprints keys and glass of alcohol on ice for a dui defense lawyer troy

Troy OVI Charges and Penalties

OVI laws listed under Section 4511.19 of the Ohio Revised Code authorize law enforcement to cast a wide net in pulling over drivers suspected of OVI. In addition to using OVI checkpoints, officers may use driving behaviors, such as weaving in and out of lanes or problems in maintaining speed, as well as circumstances such as being out in the late night/early morning hours to warrant making a traffic stop.

Under Ohio’s implied consent law, drivers who are pulled over and refuse to submit to blood or urine testing could face a mandatory one year driver’s license suspension. If you do submit and your blood alcohol content (BAC) level is .08 or greater, you could face the following penalties:

  • First Offense OVI: Fines up to $1,075, mandatory minimum jail time of 72 hours, and license suspension up to three years;
  • Second Offense OVI: Fines up to $1,625, mandatory jail sentence up to six months, license suspension up to five years, and 90 day vehicle impoundment;
  • Third Offense OVI: Fines up to $2,750, mandatory jail sentence up to one year, license suspension up to ten years, and mandatory alcohol treatment.  

For a fourth or subsequent OVI, you could face felony OVI charges, which may include fines in excess of $10,000, jail sentences of three years or more, and revocation of your driving privileges.

OVUAC Charges In Ohio

If you are a driver under the age of 18 and are found to have a BAC of .02 percent or greater, you could end up being charged with Operating a Vehicle After Underage Consumption (OVUAC). According to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), these charges carry severe penalties, which include fines, revocation of your driver’s license, and mandatory drug/alcohol classes. In order to get your license reinstated, you would need to do the following:

  • Retake your driver’s license test,
  • Attend remedial driver instruction;
  • Pay all associated BMV fees;
  • Maintain an SR-22 insurance bond on your vehicle.

OUR TROY OWI DEFENSE ATTORNEYS
ARE HERE TO HELP

If you have been arrested and charged with OVI, contact the VanNoy Firm right away. Our nationally recognized Troy OVI defense attorneys provide the aggressive legal representation you need to ensure your rights and interests are protected. We can advise you on the best course of action to minimize any potential penalties you face, so call or contact us online to request a consultation today.

Why Do People Choose Us?

Because We Win!

GET IN TOUCH

Fill out the form below to schedule a consultation

130 W. Second Street, Ste 1624 Dayton, OH 45402
(937) 952-5043
(937) 496-5393

Copyright 2017. All rights reserved | NUVEW

Attorney Advertising. This website is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship. Testimonials are not a guarantee, warranty, or prediction of the outcome of your case.