Being charged with driving under the influence, called operating a vehicle under the influence (OVI) in Ohio, offense can be scary. If you are convicted of these charges, your life and future may be significantly altered, and you may be faced with limited opportunities, large fines, jail time, and the permanence of the charge on your criminal record. At The VanNoy Firm, we understand how nerve-wracking an OVI charge can be, and want to help you to understand your options and defend yourself against charges.
If you are of the legal drinking age (21) and driving a vehicle in Ohio, you are not legally permitted to have a blood alcohol concentration level at or above .08 percent. If your blood alcohol percentage is above .17 percent, then you will face more than the minimum 72-hour incarceration period, and instead be subject to a minimum of six days in jail.
For those drivers who are under the legal drinking age of 21, the legal blood alcohol content level is lower. For a blood or breath alcohol test, the legal limit for underage drivers is .02 percent. If a driver who is under 21 has a blood alcohol level of .02 percent or greater, they are operating a vehicle under the influence per Ohio law, and will be subjected to OVI charges as such.
If you are convicted of an OVI charge in Ohio, you will likely face harsh penalties; the state does not take drinking and driving lightly. As explained above, there is a minimum 72-hour jail period for those who have a blood alcohol concentration level above .08 percent but below .17 percent. For those with a BAC of .17 percent or above, this time period increases to a minimum of six days.
But jail time isn’t the only penalty for drinking and driving; you will also face a fine of up to $1,000 depending upon the details of the crime, may be required to enroll in an alcohol education/driver intervention program, may be required to install an interlock ignition device on your vehicle, and may have your license revoked (and be ordered to pay a fee to reinstate it).
You have the right to defend yourself against OVI charges in Ohio. Without knowledge of the law and your rights under it, though, this can be challenging to do. Your best option is to hire an experienced Dayton OVI defense attorney who knows what you’re up against and knows the best way to build your defense.
Our experienced lawyers will work around-the-clock to have the charges against you reduced or dropped entirely. Schedule a free consultation with our law firm today.
Copyright 2017. All rights reserved | NUVEW
Attorney Advertising. This website is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship. Testimonials are not a guarantee, warranty, or prediction of the outcome of your case.
How did we do?
Note: Your review may be shared publicly.